Hot news:

If you find a spelling error, please select an incorrect text and press Ctrl+Enter. Thank you!

Compression project >> Video Area Home

High quality image and video resampling

MSU Graphics & Media Lab (Video Group)

Researchers: Alexey Lukin
Andrey Krylov
Anastasia Koulikova
Dmitriy Vatolin
Sergey Putilin

At the end of October 2002 we have started the project on "High quality image and video resampling", supported by Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology (http://www.sait.samsung.co.kr/). The project's goal was to design a new high-quality method for resampling of images and video.

The tasks of the project include:


Example of resampling of the image (down and up) using
different algorithms (last two are our).

Our image resampling algorithm, G&M Lab Impress, has the following advantages over the standard methods:

Several metrics were implemented during the project (including LUV-metrics accounting for Contrast Sensitivity Function). One metric for measurement of image bluring-sharpening can be particularly interesting for future research.


Example of bluring-sharpening metric

Extensive testing of different image resampling algorithms has been performed. Seven "mira" test vector images were created for testing tasks. 9 photos provided by SAIT were also used. These 16 images have been processed using 18 resampling methods, (including methods of well known video-processing tool VirtualDub resampling methods and of Adobe Photoshop 7.0). Totally we have performed more than 1500 measurements for different methods, images and resolutions.


Different resampling methods metric example.

These images are obtained by comparison of scaled image with the original image (rasterized from vector image using Adobe Photoshop). Black color stands for no difference. Blue colors stand for slight differences. Green, yellow and red colors stand for more noticeable, significant differences.


Testing image for subpixel shift detection usage.

E-mail: 
Please read MSU filters FAQ before mailing.


Another resources


Video resources:

Bookmark this page:   Add to Del.icio.us Add to Del.icio.us     Digg It Digg It     reddit reddit

 
Last updated: 10-March-2011

Search (Russian):
Server size: 8069 files, 1215Mb (Server statistics)

Project updated by
Server Team and MSU Video Group


Project sponsored by YUVsoft Corp.

Project supported by MSU Graphics & Media Lab

Новинки:

Сайт подключен к Orphus. Если вы заметили опечатку, выделите слово и нажмите Ctrl+Enter. Спасибо!

ENGLISH

Высококачественный алгоритм масштабирования

MSU Graphics & Media Lab (Video Group)

Разработка: Алексей Лукин
Андрей Крылов
Дмитрий Ватолин
Анастасия Куликова
Сергей Путилин

В октябре 2002г. в лаборатории начался проект "High quality image and video resampling" при поддержке Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology ( http://www.sait.samsung.co.kr/ ). Задачей проекта является создание алгоритма масштабирования изображений и видео, по своим характеристикам превосходящий известные аналоги.

Проект включает в себя исследования по следующим направлениям:


Пример масштабирования тестового изображения сначала вниз, а потом вверх,
с использованием разных методов (два последних разработаны у нас).

Наш алгоритм масштабирования изображений, G&M Lab Impress, обладает следующими преимуществами по сравнению со стандартными методами:

В рамках проекта разработан и реализовано несколько метрик изображений. Помимо вариаций LUV метрики с использованием Contrast Sensitivity Function интерес также представляет метрика, измеряющая размытость и резкость участков изображения.


Пример метрики, измеряющей степень размытия (резкости) одного изображения по сравнению с другим.

Также в рамках проекта проведено массовое тестирование алгоритмов масштабирования. Для этого были взяты 7 изображений, специально сгенерированных для тестирования алгоритмов масштабирования, а также 9 фотографий, предоставленных Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology. Эти 16 изображений сравнивались на 18 методах масштабирования, в том числе реализованных в известной программе обработки видео VirtualDub и в известном редакторе изображений Photoshop. Всего было проведено более 1500 замеров разных вариантов применения тестируемых методов масштабирования при разных разрешениях.


Приведены изображения метрик, полученных для разных методов масштабирования.

Изображения получены путем сравнения отмасштабированного изображения с его векторным вариантом (растеризованным с помощью Adobe Photoshop). Черный цвет соответствует отсутствию изменений. Градации синего - незначительным изменениям, желтого и красного - значительным (видимым) изменениям.
 


Приведены примеры определения сдвигов (в том числе субпиксельных) в алгоритме масштабирования.

Связаться с нами можно по адресу: 


Другие материалы


Материалы по видео


Смотрите также материалы:
- По цветовым пространствам
- По JPEG
- По JPEG-2000