Hot news:

If you find a spelling error, please select an incorrect text and press Ctrl+Enter. Thank you!

Compression project >> Video Area Home
РУССКИЙ
Graphics & Media Lab

Automatic Segmentation

MSU Graphics & Media Lab (Video Group)

Algorithm, ideas: Dr. Dmitriy Vatolin
Algorithm, implementation: Sergey Grishin,
Kostya Strelnikov, Maxim Makhinya, Sergey Putilin

Interest in advanced interactivity with multimedia data significantly increased last years. This cause an advent of new standards proposing the functionality for manipulation with multimedia data (an example of such a standard is MPEG4). That is why segmentation algorithms find its application in wide range of areas including content-based representation of multimedia data, improvement of coding efficiency in video compression standards, sophisticated query and retrieval of video and other content-based functionalities for multimedia applications.

Our developed algorithm performs detection and tracking of foreground (FG) objects in video. This is done by calculation of global motion with further estimation of local motion. Detection of a FG object position is then performed based on the information about global and local motion. The principal advantage of the method is its ability to detect a FG object even in case of ultra slow motion which is not common for algorithms of this type. Another important advantages include:


Examples


This section contains segmentation results of developed algorithm and its comparison with algorithm developed at University of Florida.

The first example (pic. 1, 2) demonstrates result obtained using 'dancer' test video sequence:

Original frame
Pic.1 Original frame
Segmentation result
Pic.2 Segmentation result

The second example (pic. 3, 4) shows result obtained using 'table tennis' test video sequence:

Original frame
Pic.3 Original frame
Segmentation result
Pic.4 Segmentation result

The next example (pic. 5, 6) shows segmentation result of 'bus' test video sequence:

Original frame
Pic.5 Original frame
Segmentation result
Pic.6 Segmentation result

Quality comparison of the developed method and algorithm of University of Florida is shown on the pictures below. This example shows results for test video sequence 'mother & daughter'. This sequence has two obstacles for successful segmentation. The first one is the proximity of colors belonging to different objects. And the second one (obstacle for foreground-background classification) is very slow motion of FG objects. Method of University of Florida produces segments consisting of parts actually belonging to several objects: the blue segment has parts in the area of woman's silhouette, blue segment points are presented around woman's head. However this comparison is not fully correct because algorithms perform segmentation of different types.

Original frame
Pic.7 Original frame
University of Florida result
Pic.8 University of Florida result
(different segments are marked by different colors)
Proposed method result
Pic.9 Proposed method result


Download


For commercial license of this filter please contact us via

сontact email


Other resources


Video resources:

Bookmark this page:   Add to Del.icio.us Add to Del.icio.us     Digg It Digg It     reddit reddit

 
Last updated: 10-March-2011

Search (Russian):
Server size: 8069 files, 1215Mb (Server statistics)

Project updated by
Server Team and MSU Video Group


Project sponsored by YUVsoft Corp.

Project supported by MSU Graphics & Media Lab

Новинки:

Сайт подключен к Orphus. Если вы заметили опечатку, выделите слово и нажмите Ctrl+Enter. Спасибо!

ENGLISH
Graphics & Media Lab

Automatic Segmentation

MSU Graphics & Media Lab (Video Group)

Проект: Дмитрий Ватолин
Алгоритм, реализация: Сергей Гришин,
Константин Стрельников, Максим Махиня, Сергей Путилин

В последнее время сильно возрос интерес к интерактивности мультимедиа данных. Это обусловило появление новых стандартов, реализующих функциональность для управления мультимедиа информацией (примером такого стандарта является MPEG4). Это является причиной того, что алгоритмы сегментации имеют широкую область применения: объектно-ориентированное представление мультимедиа данных, повышение эффективности кодирования в стандартах сжатия видео, сложные запросы поиска и передачи видео и другие объектно-ориентированные задачи управления мультимедиа данными.

Разработанный алгоритм позволяет осуществить поиск и трекинг объектов переднего плана в видео. Это производится путем вычисления глобального и локального движения объектов в кадре с последующим использованием этой информации для определения позиций объектов переднего плана на кадрах. Существенным достоинством данного метода является возможность правильного определения положения объектов переднего плана даже в случае очень медленного движения. Это свойство часто не присуще алгоритмам данного типа. Другие важные достоинства включают:


Примеры


В данном разделе приведены результаты сегментации, полученные разработанным алгоритмом, и его сравнение с методом UF (University of Florida).

Первый пример (рис. 1, 2) демонстрирует результат, полученный на последовательности 'dancer':

Исходный кадр
Рис.1 Исходный кадр
Результат сегментации
Рис.2 Результат сегментации предложенным методом

Следующий пример (рис. 3,4) показывает результат сегментации кадра из последовательности 'table tennis':

Исходный кадр
Рис.3 Исходный кадр
Результат сегментации
Рис.4 Результат сегментации предложенным методом

На рисунках ниже (рис. 5, 6) приведен результат, полученный на последовательности 'bus':

Исходный кадр
Рис.5 Исходный кадр
Результат сегментации
Рис.6 Результат сегментации предложенным методом

Ниже приведено сравнение разработанного алгоритма и метода UF (University of Florida). Результаты сегментации были получены на последовательности "mother & daughter". Данная последовательность сложна для сегментации по двум причинам. Первая причина - цвета различных объектов в кадре очень близки. Вторая (сложность для методов, выделяющих объекты переднего плана) - очень медленное движение объектов. Существенным недостатком метода UF является то, что части некоторых сегментов часто находятся на разных объектах: синий сегмент имеет части в области силуэта женщины и вокруг ее головы. Однако следует учитывать, что данное сравнение является не совсем корректным поскольку методы производят сегментацию разных типов.

Исходный кадр
Рис.7 Исходный кадр
Результат метода UF
Рис.8 Результат метода UF
(разные сегменты помечены разными цветами)
Результат разработанного метода
Рис.9 Результат сегментации предложенным методом


Download


По вопросам лицензирования обращайтесь по электронной почте:

сontact email


Другие материалы


Материалы по видео


Смотрите также материалы:
- По цветовым пространствам
- По JPEG
- По JPEG-2000